Are There Certifications in Welding? Find Out Here

Like many other manual labor jobs that rely on skills and experience, welding is something that you need to learn well enough to actually become a welder. You need to equip yourself with the technical, theoretical, and practical knowledge while making sure that you are experienced enough in the field of welding. However, are there certifications that you need to qualify for and pass when it comes to welding?

There are certifications in welding. While you only need to pass one certification to become a welder, there are actually a total of eight welding certifications that you can take if you want to progress in your career as a welder. As such, there is actually a progressive career path in the field of welding.

Welding may not seem much to those who don’t know anything about this field. But you should know that this isn’t an easy job that anyone can do or train for in a matter of months. Welding can be hard if you are not equipped with the proper training and knowledge, and that is why there are certifications to determine how qualified you are as a welder.

Are There Certifications In Welding?

For those who are thinking of skipping the college career path because of how expensive it is, there are some career paths that you can take without having to spend several years in college. And such career paths actually pay well enough, depending on how skilled and experienced you are in the field.

One such career path is welding. Welders are highly in demand in a lot of different industries today because of how vital their skills are when it comes to different types of jobs such as construction, assembly, manufacturing, and other similar jobs. This is why welding pays well enough.

But, to become a welder, what do you have to do? The thing you need to know about welding is that this is something you need to learn through formal education of years of learning on the job or on the field.

So, after learning more about welding, is there a certification that you need to pass to become a welder?

As a matter of fact, yes, there is a certification that you need to pass to become a welder. And the truth is that there is actually a total of eight certifications in the field of welding. That means that welding is actually a career path with a ladder that you can climb steadily so that you can earn more while progressing up the ladder.

What Are The Different Welding Certifications?

As mentioned, there are eight different welding certifications. Let’s go over them one by one.

1. Certified Welder (CW)

Becoming a Certified Welder is the first and only step to becoming a welder. You can become a CW through a process of practical assessments that are there to make sure that you are equipped with the skills, experience, and knowledge that a welder needs. And the good news is that there are no prerequisites for the certification as long as you actually pass the certification process.

2. Certified Welding Inspector certification (CWI)

Becoming a Certified Welding Inspector is the second step in the welding ladder. This certification tends to be given out to those who have become skilled enough in the welding industry and have also shown what it takes to become a leader among welders. The CWI certification also allows welders to have a more secured tenure and more advancement opportunities in the future.

To qualify for the CWI certification, you need to prove that you have at least a year of practical work experience as a CW. After that, you need to take several exams and assessments that you need to pass to become a CWI.

3. Certified Welding Educator certification (CWE)

A Certified Welding Educator certification allows someone to become a person who works as an educator in the field of welding. They usually prepare and create reports, read drawings, and understand the processes and qualifications needed to become a welder.

For you to qualify for the CWE testing, you need to be able to have attended a welding training program and have at least five years of experience as a CW in the field of welding. 

4. Certified Resistance Welding Technician certification (CRWT)

Resistance welding is an entirely different type of industry in the field of welding. As such, those who want to work in resistance welding would have to become Certified Resistance Welding Technicians. To obtain your CRWT certification, you need to take a separate exam after becoming a CW.

5. Certified Radiographic Interpreter certification (CRI)

A Certified Radiographic Interpreter is someone who analyzes radiographs in the field of welding. They must be able to interpret and analyze indications of radiographic media while evaluating different radiographs of weldments.

To become a CRI, you would need to finish high school and must undergo at least 40 hours of organized radiographic interpretation and examination. On top of that, you also need to have at least one year of experience working in a company or under a nationally-certified radiographic interpreter. 

6. Certified Welding Supervisor certification (CWS)

One of the highest certifications that a CW can hold is the Certified Welding Supervisor certification. A CWS certification is usually recommended for those who have become qualified for a managerial position in the field of welding. As such, it is ideal for leaders in the field of welding and for those with the experience and skills that will allow them to become effective leaders and problem solvers.

To qualify as a candidate for the CWS, applicants must already hold a CWI certification for six out of eight previous years before taking the CWS exam. You also need at least 15 years of relevant work experience as well. Applicants would have to take an exam that consists of two parts that focus on technical and administrative knowledge.

7. Certified Welding Engineer (CWE)

A Certified Welding engineer is someone who wants to certify their expertise in the preparation of welded joints and the assembly and fabrication of such. Of course, you would have to take an exam to prove that you are qualified for this certification. The exam consists of four different parts that cover the different fundamentals involved when it comes to welding. 

8. Certified Robotic Arc Welding certification

A Certified Robotic Arc Welder is someone who is proven to have the skills in working with different types of codes and standards that are necessary for the field. As such, those who want to become certified in this field need to take a certification exam to prove their skills and knowledge. And you need to have your certification renewed once every three years to make sure that you are keeping yourself updated with the latest developments in this field.

Recent Posts